If you wish to remove your Post Office account and all of the personal details that you have added to it, you can organise this from your Account Page. After logging in, in the 'Settings' section of the page you can choose from two different options:
Option 1: 'Deactivate my account'
This will cancel your account but your details will remain in our system for 30 days. If you change your mind, you can log back into your account at any time within the 30 days to reactivate it.
If you don't log back in within this 30 days, the account will automatically enter the queue for permanent deletion (which is not possible to reverse). Once your account has entered the deletion queue, your details will be removed from our system within 24 hours.
Option 2: 'Delete my account'
This will cancel your Post Office account and immediately start the deletion process. Once the account deletion has been confirmed, your details will be removed from our system within 24 hours (this process is not possible to reverse).
Please note: Choosing to delete your Post Office account rather than deactivate will send a request to cancel any other Post Office accounts you might have. If you do not wish to delete all Post Office account information, please only select the option to deactivate the account instead.
Post Office Drop & Go
If you have a Drop & Go card attached to your Post Office online account, before cancelling your account, please make sure that you have withdrawn all credit from the Drop & Go card. Should you have cancelled your Post Office online account before withdrawing your Drop & Go credit, it is still possible to reclaim the funds, but it will take longer to process.
After your account is cancelled
Should you at any time wish to create a new Post Office account after your original account has been cancelled, you can register a new account using the same email address. This will be possible as soon as your information has been removed from our system (ie. within a few hours of deleting your account, or after 30 days if you have chosen to deactivate your account).